Sub Menu
Links Menu
Online Users

In total there are 642 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 641 guests

Most users ever online was 1091 on Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:27 pm

Registered users: Majestic-12 [Bot] based on users active over the past 60 minutes

[Solved] HTML Guru Needed :|

General discussion of anything. Discuss a topic in and out of IntegraMOD

Moderator: Integra Moderator

[Solved] HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:33 pm

Ok guys... I'm about to the point of turning off the PC for good... seriously.

I have never hit such a stupid stump in html before. Ever.
Everyone keeps telling me I've spent too much time on the themes I've been making, and that I need to step back and start fresh etc... but I don't think so :-?

Code: Select all
<table>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>         </td>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>         </td>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr></table>


Call me an idiot. Please.
Last edited by Frost on Sat Dec 23, 2006 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

PostAuthor: ZacFields » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:18 am

what's not working about it?

I loaded it up on a test page (without the images of course) and it looked to me as if everything was working just fine.

Once I know what's the problem with it I can help you a little better. But without the images it appears as though everything looks good.

Zac
Last edited by ZacFields on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ZacFields
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 426
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 10:14 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:49 am

I guess you have a point, the images would help...

It's just a simple header image with two images at 50% to stretch across any resolution. The code was originally produced by Imageready after I sliced the image made in photoshop.

Now I'm using the EXACT same code on a theme I'm building for IM 141 which can be seen in action, and "working" (in Firefox so far) [url=http]HERE[/url]

There it works just fine in FF, but not in IE... that was one problem I was facing. Then someone asked for me to try and make the exact same theme for PhpBB3 or "Olympus" when it hits final as well...

So I spent about 30 minutes changing some css, and grabbing the same images, and same code from the IM 141 theme and refreshed to view the progress and found it completely screwed.

You can view the "not working" pile of junk html header [url=http]HERE[/url]

I really have no idea why the hell it works on one, but not the other.
I'm pretty much going to throw this style out the window and start over on something else.

I think people would rather be able to keep the original little "logo" spot instead of a custom header anyways <img>
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

Re: HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: evolver » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:50 am

There doesn't seem to be a problem...

[code]<table>    <tr>       <td>          <img src="http]
I just redirected the image-links to your site, and it seems to work fine...
However, these links seem different:
styles/fusion_tech/theme/images/
templates/fusion_tech/images/

Could it be just a link problem?
Or maybe you just putted that code at the wrong place...
Last edited by evolver on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageAlways remember you're unique, just like everyone else.
We are born naked, wet and hungry. Then things get worse.
Don't take life too seriously, you won't get out alive.
User avatar
evolver
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 420
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:46 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Oostende

Re: HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:20 am

I just redirected the image-links to your site, and it seems to work fine...


Yea, here you used the links to my IM141 style that is working fine (In FF only)

If you change those links to reflect the ones used for the Olympus style you will probably see the image as you see it if you click the (not working one)

However, these links seem different:
styles/fusion_tech/theme/images/
templates/fusion_tech/images/


The links are different because of the difference in folders between Integramod and Phpbb3 or Olympus.

The real location would be:

Good (In FF only): http://www.black-fusion.com/templates/f ... der_blabla

This is because I have Integramod 141 Beta installed in the root directory playing around with the beta and messing with styles.

Bad (In all browsers): http://www.black-fusion.com/phpbb3/styl ... der_blabla

This is where I installed the latest beta of PhpBB3 Olympus to see how the new style system would be.

But like I said, I used the exact same code in both and one works, one doesnt.
If it matters, the new phpbb uses .html extensions and does away with .tpl files.

But both overall_header files are pretty much the same.... kind of...

Here is a screenshot of what I'm seeing.

Working:

[flash=,:2yyga3qm]http://black-fusion.com/working.jpg[/flash:2yyga3qm]

Not Working:

[flash=,:2yyga3qm]http://black-fusion.com/screwed.jpg[/flash:2yyga3qm]

----

The snippet of overall_header.tpl of the "Working"
Code: Select all
 <body><BEGIN>     <table>     <tr>     <td><span><b>{L_BOARD_DISABLE}</b></span></td>     </tr>    </table><END>  <table>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>         </td>         </td>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr>     <tr>         <td>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr></table>  


The snippet of overall_header.html of the "Not Working"
Code: Select all
 <a></a><table>    <tr>       <td>          <img></td>       <td>       </td>       <td>          <img></td>       <td>       </td>       <td>          <img></td>    </tr>    <tr>       <td>          <img></td>    </tr>    <tr>       <td>          <img></td>    </tr></table>     <div>         <table>         <tr>             <td>  


If that helps any :-?
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

Re: HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: evolver » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:39 am

OK, I've tried the other imagelinks.
Seems to works fine as well...[web:13s5xez8]http://www.stelplaats.be/columtest.html[/web:13s5xez8]
Works fine in IE and in Firefox.

I guess that the problem might be caused by a missing table-tag somewhere else...
This table is inside another table, check the other table...

It is strange to see the border in your example:
[flash=,:13s5xez8]http://black-fusion.com/screwed.jpg[/flash:13s5xez8]
There is some space between the border and the table, but no space where the image broke...

I could recreate this kind of broken image by changing the table's cellpadding or cellspacing above 0:
I placed it inside another table (black).
Like this:
[web:13s5xez8]http://www.stelplaats.be/columtest2.html[/web:13s5xez8]
Now this line is important:
Correct:
Code: Select all
<table>

border="0" cellpadding="0"

The problem can happen with]<table><table><table>[/code]
Or even without:
Code: Select all
<table>


But in my recreation, there's still space between the top border and the image, so it's also possible that your problem could be caused on the outside table by missing tags...
On your example there's a very thin line between the left white border and the image, but on the top I don't see one...
Last edited by evolver on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageAlways remember you're unique, just like everyone else.
We are born naked, wet and hungry. Then things get worse.
Don't take life too seriously, you won't get out alive.
User avatar
evolver
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 420
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:46 pm
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Oostende

PostAuthor: shedt_v » Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:37 am

working or not, that's some amazing work you've got going there.

Looks amazing, i hope i can make themes half as good as that some day

:thumbs up dude
Last edited by shedt_v on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shedt_v
Integra Member
Integra Member
 
Posts: 114
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 7:37 am
Cash on hand: 0.00

PostAuthor: Frost » Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:06 pm

"shedt_v";p="18644" wrote:working or not, that's some amazing work you've got going there.

Looks amazing, i hope i can make themes half as good as that some day

:thumbs up dude


Thanks :grin:

Anyways, Evolver, I thought about the cellspacing thing, but they are all 0 :-?
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

Re: HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Mighty Gorgon » Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:20 am

The problem is related to CSS...

[list type=decimal][*]Open the CSS
[*]FIND
[code]td {     padding]
[*]REPLACE WITH
[code]td {     padding][/list]

Try and let me know... <img>
Last edited by Mighty Gorgon on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Luca
User avatar
Mighty Gorgon
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:35 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Borgo San Michele

Re: HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:23 pm

Wow... :-?

Marking this solved and thanks to everyone who helped <img>


p.s. Haven't I seen you somewhere on a different forum Mighty Gordon?
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

PostAuthor: Mighty Gorgon » Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:22 am

"Frost";p="18687" wrote:p.s. Haven't I seen you somewhere on a different forum Mighty Gordon?

Mmmm... yes, maybe... I'm in phpBB world since 2001, plus I run my own phpBB communities... but I'm not going to spam this forum with free ads. <img>

Finally I would like just to remark that you can add STYLE tags in HTML to override the CSS rules... this may sometimes bereally useful if you don't want to create classes for everything or you want just to have one exception like in your case: you may want to preserve the padding for all CELLS but the headers.

The way to do it?

Easy...

Use the STYLE tag in this way:
[code]<td style="padding]

Or you may even override some hierarchy nested rules by adding negative values:
[code]<td style="padding]

This is the way I usually solve issues in templates without changing the CSS class.
Last edited by Mighty Gorgon on Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Luca
User avatar
Mighty Gorgon
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:35 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Borgo San Michele

Re: [Solved] HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:47 am

Yes, that may help in my case alot, depending on how changing the css effected the rest of the site, I haven't had time to mess with it save for the error correcting because of the holidays... for everyone's favorite time of year.. it sure is a pain in the ass :mrgreen:
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

Re: [Solved] HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:37 am

Follow-Up:

I had to use it a little differently for it to work.

I removed the suggested edit on the .css and added:
[code]style="padding]

On each of the <td> in the header section and it worked great <img>
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

Re: [Solved] HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Mighty Gorgon » Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:11 pm

Sorry... I forgot to add the colon :! :wink:

I've edited my post to fix it. <img>
Last edited by Mighty Gorgon on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Luca
User avatar
Mighty Gorgon
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:35 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Borgo San Michele

Re: [Solved] HTML Guru Needed :|

PostAuthor: Frost » Mon Dec 25, 2006 3:05 am

Yea, if I wouldn't have been to narrow minded and stupid in the first place and looked in the css to begin with, none of us would have had to think about this :mrgreen:
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Majestic-12 [Bot]

cron