Translate
Sub Menu
Links Menu
Online Users

In total there are 78 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 76 guests

Most users ever online was 372 on Thu May 09, 2019 3:50 am

Registered users: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] based on users active over the past 60 minutes

Last Online
In order to view the online list you have to be registered and logged in.



We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.

Click here to Register

I made a form for my site.

If you have any helpful hints and/or tips in the use of IntegraMOD, you can post it here to help other members of the IntegraMOD community.

Moderator: Integra Moderator

I made a form for my site.

PostAuthor: cutegothpirate » Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:29 pm

I made it use the template and merge into the main site, made it email me, made it have its own error page within the page template, and have a confirmation page in my page template.
It is very difficult and long, but if I can do it, i'm sure you can too.
Because I do not know how to program php at all!

I used http://phpformgen.sourceforge.net/
Its a free download.
Follow the directions to install it.
Make your form following the form instructions.
It will save your form in the folder on your site
like mysite.com/forms/use/formname/form1.html
Download the form1.html to your computer. If it called it something different, get that one.
Delete all the style that the form gen put into your form.
All of the colors, and images should be removed.
It should just be plain text and form fields.

note:
Because of this fact, you can do what I did and make a form using frontpage ::gasp:: and then just make sure that the names of the fields match the one in the process.php that the formgen made. That way I was able to have a design view and see what I was making. Just make sure it has this..
Code: Select all
<HTML><BODY><form>  

Where it has it in the formgen's form.

Follow instructions on how to make a new portal page.
[url=http]http://www.integramod.com/forum/kb.php?mode=article&k=6[/url]
When making your form's portal page, copy and paste the html of the form you downloaded to your computer into the block.
To make sure the submit and reset buttons match change them to
add in class='mainoption' like this..
Code: Select all
<INPUT><INPUT>  

If your text boxes are not white on your site, you need to change them too.
add class='post' like....
Code: Select all
<INPUT>  

I don't know if every theme uses those classes, but thats what mine used.
Then make 2 more portal pages, 1 for the error page, and one for the page they see after submitting the form.
The form generator made a php file called process.php
You need to edit that
Code: Select all
 replace $error.="<li>You did not enter one or more of the required fields. Please go back and try again.";with$error=header("Refresh]=="on"?"s":"")."://".$SERVER_NAME.strrev(strstr(strrev($PHP_SELF),"/"));with$where_form_is=header("Refresh: 0;url=http://yoursite.com/portal.php?page=your thankyou page number");    after $message = stripslashes($message);mail("youremail@addy","Form Submitted at your website",$message,"From: phpFormGenerator");  putheader("Refresh: 0;url=http://yoursite.com/portal.php?page=your thankyou page number");  


Put the php file in the public html on your site.
Put the global.inc.php file from the folder you got the process.php file from in the public html on your site.

If you are lucky like I was, it will match your site, email you, give you a confirmation that matches your site, and will give you an error that matches your site if you didn't fill something out.

I tested mine out, and I am not able to get to the form to fill it out if I don't have an account on the website. Which is cool!

What would be cool is to have it where people can only fill it out once per account.
If anyone can give me advice on that, that would be cool!
Last edited by cutegothpirate on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cutegothpirate
Members
Members
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:15 am

PostAuthor: Dioncecht » Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:10 pm

Yeah I've been using that for some time and it's pretty godly
Last edited by Dioncecht on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
'We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we're curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.' - Walt Disney

[img=left]http://rpghq.org/banner2.jpg[/img]
[url=http]The RPG Headquarters. The RPG capitol of the net![/url]
User avatar
Dioncecht
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:23 pm

Re: I made a form for my site.

PostAuthor: Frost » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:54 pm

Great tip cutegothpirate!

Even I have never heard of that program, and I scout daily <img>
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:04 am
Location: Photoshop CS3

PostAuthor: richiebgood » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:02 am

Any demo of this?
Last edited by richiebgood on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richiebgood
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Ireland

Re: I made a form for my site.

PostAuthor: XHIBIT » Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:24 pm

Yeah a demo would be nice
Last edited by XHIBIT on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[url=http][img=center]http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb186/XTVMOVIES/LP-ani.gif[/img][/url]
[url=http][img=center]http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb186/XTVMOVIES/ALBUM%203/rabbitbanner.jpg[/img][/url]
[url=http][img=center]http://5thshiftradio.top-site-list.com/images/banners/5thshiftradio.jpg[/img][/url]
User avatar
XHIBIT
Integra Member
Integra Member
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:44 am

Re: I made a form for my site.

PostAuthor: MWE_001 » Sun Feb 17, 2008 12:48 pm

yeah Im with ya's on the demo. I have been after something like this for ages on end now. I would love it to make a dj application page for my radio website.

I have one installed and working now, but it is for a clan. I just tweaked it a tad to make it work for now.

Ahhh for a working demo, just visit the website. I messed around with it for a few minutes and made a makeshift Dj application form. I didnt save it though. Im going to go back and create another one that is useful for my website.

Very good find. <img>
Last edited by MWE_001 on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Don't gain the world and lose your soul, wisdom is better than silver and gold" -Bob Marley

If you build it, I can break it! ~ Whispered in the tone of the movie Field of Dreams.
User avatar
MWE_001
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1249
Images: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: Illinois


Return to Hints and Tips

Who is online

Registered users: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot]

cron