Page 1 of 2

Custom Banner

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 2:48 pm
Author: Threat009
So you wanna customize your site w/a full length banner?

goto templates > fisubice (or whatever template you happen to have)

Open overall_header.tpl w/your favorite editor

find
Code: Select all
<a><img></a>

Replace w/below or customize something similiar to it

<div><img></div>

Remember to rename the text in red to suit. Should work w/.gif, .jpeg, etc, etc.

Save, close, upload/overwrite to templates > fisubice (or whatever template you happen to have)

Go back to your site, hit [F5] on your keyboard to refresh, and you should be golden!

Any questions? Feel free to PM me <!-- s]EDIT:[/color]This tip is based on the default fisubice Theme. The code needed to find may vary per theme/style. Need help? Feel free to ask.....

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 1:31 am
Author: found it
Nice one...

but just a little tip also....


instead of calling up your sites doman name

http://www.yoursite.com/yourbanner.png

you can write it as templates/your template/yourbanner.png

replacing your template obviously with the name of your template.... :mrgreen:

so it will look like this

<div><img></div>

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 9:07 am
Author: Jason Sanborn
I actually created a rotating banner on my site. I have a directory that stores the headers and the background image for the headers and, using PHP, it selects a banner to display randomly. It isn't anything sophisticated, but it gets the job done. <img>

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:12 am
Author: Navaros
I can't find that scripting on the Acidtech overall_header.tpl. Can you tell me what script I need to replace on that to make a full length banner?

Thanks!

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:22 am
Author: found it
can you show your overall_header.tpl file and I ll show you the code....

:mrgreen:

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:32 am
Author: Navaros
java not allowed in posts

Guess that would help. <!-- s]<DOCTYPE><mod><html>  <head><meta><meta>{META_HTTP_EQUIV_TAGS}<title>{SITENAME} - {PAGE_TITLE}</title>{META_TAGS}{META}{NAV_LINKS}<_></_><_></_>  <link><_></_><link><BEGIN><_><if></_><END><Start><_> <var></_><End><BEGIN><_><window></_><END><_> <function> </_><_></_><Prillian><BEGIN><_><function></_><END><BEGIN><_>if ( {buddy_alert.BUDDY_ALERT} ){window.open('{buddy_alert.U_BUDDY_ALERT}', '_buddyalert', 'HEIGHT=225,resizable=yes,WIDTH=400');}</_><END><Prillian></head><body><BEGIN>     <table>     <tr>     <td><span><b>{L_BOARD_DISABLE}</b></span></td>     </tr>    </table><END><Start><Banners><table><tr><td><table><BEGIN><tr><td><div>{BANNER_1_IMG}</div></td></tr><END><BEGIN><tr><td><div>{BANNER_2_IMG}</div></td></tr><END></table></td><td><table><BEGIN><tr><td><div>{BANNER_3_IMG}</div></td></tr><END><BEGIN><tr><td><div>{BANNER_4_IMG}</div></td></tr><END></table></td><td><table><BEGIN><tr><td><div>{BANNER_5_IMG}</div></td></tr><END><BEGIN><tr><td><div>{BANNER_6_IMG}</div></td></tr><END></table></td></tr></table><End><End>{QBARS}<a></a><img><table><tr><td><table>     <tr>         <td><div><a><img></a></div></td>     </tr></table>     <table>     <tr>         <td>{QMENUS}         </td>     </tr>     </table>  <table><tr><td><img></td><td><img></td><td><img></td></tr></table><BEGIN>{BANNER_0_IMG}<END>{CALENDAR_BOX}<BEGIN><table><tr><td>{BANNER_16_IMG}</td></tr></table><END><table><BEGIN><tr><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td></tr><END><BEGIN><tr><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td></tr><END><BEGIN><tr><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td><td> </td></tr><END><tr> {PORTAL_HEADER}<td><img></td><td>  [/code]

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:47 am
Author: found it
Hi

Thanks for that what size image are you going to use so i get a rough idea....as this theme is slightly different and do you wish for the background images in the header to remain...?

:mrgreen:

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:09 am
Author: Navaros
Don't care for background images. Just want to make one banner.

The image is called headerbanner.jpg and it is 1026 x 110

My guess is the reason for having background images is so the banner will look good regardless of the desktop settings?? Meaning a set sized banner will get not look good except for the size it was made?

This is the banner:
[web:t51cg0en]http://www.oosm.net/oosm/images/headerbanner.jpg[/web:t51cg0en]

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:24 am
Author: found it
Hi

you need to find in your overall header this bit of code

Code: Select all
<table><tr><td><table>     <tr>         <td><div><a><img></a></div></td>     </tr></table>


and replace it with this bit of code

Code: Select all
<table>       <tr>         <td><a><img></a></td>     </tr></table>



I have adjusted the width to 950 as it might cause the page to stretch but you can change it if you need it longer ...

let me know if it looks ok as it is really hard to do with out seeing the site...

:mrgreen:

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 10:39 am
Author: AmyCelona
Well, I did edit the templates/fisubice/overall_header.tpl file to change the logo banner embedded in the header (I only changed the name of the image) and my site is completely offline now. <img>

I am waiting for the last back up file of my site (yikes, last year) to overwrite just that page in hopes that this will make it work. I didn't touch anything else (any other files). My fault for not backing up!

If this does not work, I'm not sure what my options are with my site. http://www.uplineresource.org.

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Author: MWE_001
Hey found it, I am using PowerMetal. Do you know anything about editing that banner? it uses .gif and I dont understand how to edit it. Or if infact I can even incorporate my banner into it to work properly...any help would be cool. If not, thats ok too. Thx in advance......


Ray

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 1:51 pm
Author: Threat009
[quote=""AmyCelona";p="4772""]Well, I did edit the templates/fisubice/overall_header.tpl file to change the logo banner embedded in the header (I only changed the name of the image) and my site is completely offline now. :)

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 5:45 pm
Author: AmyCelona
Thank you for your reply! Yes, Adrian Rea came to my rescue (okay, so I emailed him -- "I hurt myself, please help!) He is wonderful!

I did successfully change out that one graphic BUT just before I did that, I had forgotten what my password was to get in to the server so I reset it and so that somehow knocked off the databases (READ: stupid move, domino effect... clueless female hurt herself). I thought that changing the graphic from a .jpg to an animated .gif was what knocked it offline, but it was probably not viewable once I changed the password.

Lesson learned -- back up before playing with any pages!

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 6:14 am
Author: Threat009
"AmyCelona";p="4892" wrote:Thank you for your reply! Yes, Adrian Rea came to my rescue (okay, so I emailed him -- "I hurt myself, please help!) He is wonderful!

I did successfully change out that one graphic BUT just before I did that, I had forgotten what my password was to get in to the server so I reset it and so that somehow knocked off the databases (READ: stupid move, domino effect... clueless female hurt herself). I thought that changing the graphic from a .jpg to an animated .gif was what knocked it offline, but it was probably not viewable once I changed the password.

Lesson learned -- back up before playing with any pages!

:oops: But that's another topic :mrgreen:

Re: Custom Banner

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:46 am
Author: Bone Conjurer
Anyone care to do this for me I am just not comfortable trying it. I have the logo.

[Cancel. A lot more comfortable than I thought, I got it.] <img>

One question though? How do I change it so when I click on it, it does nothing. If I click on it now it goes to my PhotoBucket account.