Sub Menu
Links Menu
Online Users

In total there are 251 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 249 guests

Most users ever online was 1091 on Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:27 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] based on users active over the past 60 minutes

Overall_Header.tpl help?

IntegraMOD 141 Themes

Moderator: Integra Moderator

Overall_Header.tpl help?

PostAuthor: Dick Dynamite » Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:55 am

http://forums.allgames.com/index.php

I'd like to do a header something like the blue and black up top, but with links from my Qbar. Any tips or links to train me how to start writing template files? So far, all I've done is edit ones that already exist.
Last edited by Dick Dynamite on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
www.dickdynamite.com

Dick Dynamite
Members
Members
 
Posts: 68
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:53 am
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: Overall_Header.tpl help?

PostAuthor: Frost » Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:05 am

Its pretty simple really...

You'll need to create your graphics to show up top, then slice it up and in the section you want the menu to show you would add the menu variable

(in area for menu make the image a background image so you can have the text inside the image)

I can't really explain it without going into a full page de.scription...

I'm writing a full tutorial on this for use with photoshop and imageready and it should be done by tonight or tomorrow.

Check my site for it and when I'm done I will see if they will let me post it here in the KB
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3

PostAuthor: Dick Dynamite » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:40 pm

Please PM me a link of that when you finish, then?
Last edited by Dick Dynamite on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
www.dickdynamite.com

Dick Dynamite
Members
Members
 
Posts: 68
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:53 am
Cash on hand: 0.00

PostAuthor: Dick Dynamite » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:53 pm

Also, I'm talking about stuff like the calandar and Qbars, I was wondering if there's a certain way I have to do things with them?
Last edited by Dick Dynamite on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
www.dickdynamite.com

Dick Dynamite
Members
Members
 
Posts: 68
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:53 am
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: Overall_Header.tpl help?

PostAuthor: Frost » Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:19 pm

Well they are just variables just like everything else. Just remember to keep in mind that the calendar at the top will expand.

The best way to learn quickly is to take a look at Helter's Integra2 theme's overall_header.tpl file and see how he did it. As a matter of fact I will tell you all what he told me when I was learning. When you want to learn something or need to know how something works, you can always look at the original Integra2 theme. That is basically like subSilver for IntegraMOD.

So say you had a header set up like mine, and had your own little "box" that you wanted the menu to stretch across inside it. I will make an example of a basic "box" here.

For this tutorial I just made the box itself in Photoshop CS2 and then sent it to Imageready to slice it up
(Don't laugh at the box I did it in about 4 minutes for this tutorial)

You can see the box in action [url=http]HERE[/url]

Now here is the original code for the box

Code: Select all
<table>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr></table>


Now if you'll notice the orange "carbon fiber" area is where we will want the menu (or anything else) to be so we'll have to change the code a bit to make us be able to have text here. So what you can do to make it easy on you is right click on the area you want to put the text and view properties to see what the image is called. Then we go into the code and find the image and change it from an image to a background image like so...

Note]<table>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr>     <tr>         <td>         </td>     </tr></table>[/code]

Now that the image has been turned into a background image we can put any text over it. It's important to keep in mind that you can only put enough text inside this image as will fit. In order for it to stretch automatically you will have to use 100% as width and height instead. This also requires more complex slicing... Anyway now we can add out text, or in this case our menu. For this example I will just put a few words as the variable will not work here lol. So we change the code once again to add our text like so...

Code: Select all
<table>     <tr>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>             <img></td>         <td>             <img></td>     </tr>     <tr>         <td>                 <b><center>Our New Text/Menu - Home Forum Link Link Link Link                 </center></b>                 </td>     </tr></table>


So you see there where we put all the text you would simply need to enter {QMENUS} to have it add the menu for us automatically.

Then the calendar is pretty much the same way except that I find it easier to just leave it alone and have it under my header like it was originally and change it's look and feel with css etc.

The variable for the calendar is {CALENDAR_BOX}

Anyways that's pretty much how you do it to get you started. Like I said I am working on a full tutorial but like everything time is an issue <img>
Last edited by Frost on Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[size=99px]PhpBB3 Themes[/url] ]PhpBB3 Development Center[/url] [/size]

Frost
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 776
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:04 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Photoshop CS3


Return to IntegraMOD 141

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]

cron