Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED]Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:18 pm
Author: Coroner
Hello folks.
I installed a mod called Personal Notes 1.4.10. Everything works fine. In the overall_header.tpl there are these edits:
Code: Select all
##-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------#templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl  ##-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------#</head>  ##-----[ BEFORE, ADD ]------------------------------------------#<script> <function> </script>  ##-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------#                         <td><span> <a><img>{L_FAQ}</a></span><span>   <a><img>{L_SEARCH}</a>   <a><img>{L_MEMBERLIST}</a>   <a><img>{L_USERGROUPS}</a>   ##-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------#<BEGIN><a>{L_NOTES}</a><END>


What I'm trying to accomplish it remove the link from the overall header and put the link in my Menu block. I put this code in the portal block]<img> <a>Notes</a><br>[/code]

The problem is that the overall header link will trigger a pop up window but the link in the Menu block wont? It's just opens a full page. It bypasses IM Potal completely? In fact it opens it's own page with no overall header or footer?

Is there a way I can get the link to trigger the pop up window?

Please let me know.

Thanks!

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:40 pm
Author: MWE_001
Please clarify for me a bit. Are you wanting this link to work from the site navigation block, or a block that you have added to the page?

I have a site I can do a quick test on. If I can get the answer for you, I will come back and post. I know I have done this before from a regular block, but never from site nav.

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:49 pm
Author: MWE_001
Doh! Sorry. I went back and read your post again and you did say menu block. That I am not sure you can do with Qbar as it would require a javascript link such as
Code: Select all
<a>


I know you can do it in a block that you make but not sure about Menu block. I'm gonna step back and let HelterSkelter or some other happy soul chime in on this one.

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:26 pm
Author: Coroner
Thanks for the reply.
The "Menu" block I created. I wanted to separate the Navigation block with a set of links not visible to guests. There is no variables or block file for it. It's set for html with no cache.

I have tried many options to get the link to write to the javascript for pop ups but with no success. I'm sure there's a way. With the overall_header.tpl edits the pop up works fine so it leads me to believe that I need to plant the reference code that the header uses somewhere within IM Portal.

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:07 am
Author: Helter
the link is set in the header .js, so you should be able to use this from your block if it is set as an "html" block

<img> <a>{L_NOTES}</a>

if it is a bbcode block you can try

Image[url={U_NOTES}]{L_NOTES}[/url]

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:32 pm
Author: Coroner
"HelterSkelter" wrote:the link is set in the header .js, so you should be able to use this from your block if it is set as an "html" block

<img> <a>{L_NOTES}</a>

if it is a bbcode block you can try

[i mg]http://cscoroner.com/phpbb2/templates/fwsblack1/images/hot.gif[/img][url={U_NOTES}]{L_NOTES}[/url]


For some reason I can't use any brackets like "{}. The code shows up in the block and doesn't work at all. I've always had this issue?

Am I missing something, somewhere that kills the code from functioning?

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 11:00 pm
Author: Helter
OPEN
templates/fwsblack1/overall_header.tpl

FIND

</head>

BEFORE, ADD

Code: Select all
<script>// <CDATA></script>



use this for your link

Code: Select all
<a>Notes</a>

Re: Link in Menu block won't trigger pop up window.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 3:37 am
Author: Coroner
Worked like a charm.

Thank you so much!