Translate
Sub Menu
Links Menu
Online Users

In total there are 152 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 151 guests

Most users ever online was 561 on Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:13 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot] based on users active over the past 60 minutes

Last Online
In order to view the online list you have to be registered and logged in.



We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.

Click here to Register

block cache settings

If this is a new installation of IM3, this is the correct support forum

block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:46 pm

I am probably mis configin something again but are there cache settings for block?

I don't see the check box in the block settings like in 141.

recent topics block on the left does not refresh right, though center does.
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:59 pm

It does how ever updated, but its like 5-10 mins behind. you know ya made a new post and it don't appear in that block for a bit.

but new post link, n center recent topics block works right away.
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:33 am

You can see what I mean here, Just woke up, log into the site and click new post link at the top.

only 1 of the two new post show in the recent topics block on the left.

It acts very strange at times, on when it will show new post.
yet the center block recent topics on the portal page works fine.


http://xvnetwork.com/newpost2.jpg
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:19 pm

Really like to get this one nailed down, but dunno what to play with.
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: Michaelo » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:16 am

I believe this is sorted... Working on an update for everyone... will post soon...
Mike
Kiss Portal Engine phpbbireland (status: Released)
User avatar
Michaelo
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:23 am

"Michaelo" wrote:I believe this is sorted... Working on an update for everyone... will post soon...
Mike


Thanks I appreciate it, I just know that one small probably very minor bump in the grand scheme of the master road will just have more of my users asking questions, then any of the other bumps in the road I have come across in IM3/SGP.

Eager to go live with IM3/SGP as of now, 141 works but its blowing up the new VPS server daily still with just a few folks on. IM3/SGP doesn’t use any power. The test site is actually on the server the 141 forum got kicked off of by the host for CPU abuse.
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: Michaelo » Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:11 pm

We are working on updating but in the mean time check blocks/block_recent_topics.php for this line and edit it...
Code: Select all
if (!$result = $db->sql_query($sql, 300))
Change the 300 to 30 (30 seconds)...

If you receive and errors after you purge the cache, you may need to be reduce two other cache setting to the same value as the one you set for the first edit... There are both set to 300 ...
Code: Select all
if (!$my_result = $db->sql_query($sql2, 300)) and if( $result = $db->sql_query($sql, 300) )

Mike
Kiss Portal Engine phpbbireland (status: Released)
User avatar
Michaelo
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:42 pm

Did just the first one, no erros but no change.

changed the other two, still no change.

well beyond 30sec, several min, around 20 by now and still not there.[slow typer]

Course it could just be our forum, its always been quirky.

But I can't nail down any pattern, a new post you just made wont show for over 20 mins, make a new post in a different section, it shows right away, post from 20 mins ago still is not showing, post again in the thread that showed right away, and now it won't show, and that 20+ min old post shows up.

Its wacky

I can PM ya the info if you want to come play with it and see it in action.
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:22 am

Course the center recent topics block on the portal/home page isn't perfect. It may show all new topics right, but it has no sort order. By section, poster or date, almost random like. but they are all there.

One easy option may be to get that block to display on the index page also and drop the left side recent topics block.

http://xvnetwork.com/rtc.jpg
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: Michaelo » Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:15 pm

Almost all blocks have been updated... these will be available soon...
I will check with Helter to see if he has got around to testing the new code...
Mike
Kiss Portal Engine phpbbireland (status: Released)
User avatar
Michaelo
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: Helter » Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:11 pm

new code works great, though I have not tested any caching functions. Im just updating the templates to reflect the new js folder location. After that Ill do a few more test installs.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: Michaelo » Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:33 pm

Caching should be 100%...
Perhaps we could get some test volunteers?
Kiss Portal Engine phpbbireland (status: Released)
User avatar
Michaelo
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:34 pm

code changes or a complete new install to get the new blocks???
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: Helter » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:05 am

mike is working on an upgrade from your version, but since you have not gone live yet and still have to do a 141 import, your easiest solution will be a fresh install.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

Re: block cache settings

PostAuthor: viragotech » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:45 am

"HelterSkelter" wrote:mike is working on an upgrade from your version, but since you have not gone live yet and still have to do a 141 import, your easiest solution will be a fresh install.


Well let me know when or where to download this new version and will do a fresh test upgrade.
User avatar
viragotech
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:30 am

Next

Return to New Installation

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot]

cron