Translate
Sub Menu
Links Menu
Online Users

In total there are 85 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 83 guests

Most users ever online was 561 on Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:13 am

Registered users: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] based on users active over the past 60 minutes

Last Online
In order to view the online list you have to be registered and logged in.



We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.

Click here to Register

Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

Support for IntegraMOD 141

Moderator: Integra Moderator

Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Skywalker » Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:21 am

Your phpBB Version: 2.0.21
phpBB Type: Integramod 140
MODs: Yes
Your knowledge: Basic Knowledge
Board URL: [url]http://[/url]

PHP Version:
MySQL Version:


What was done before the problem appeared?



What was done to try to solve the problem?




De.scription and Message

is there also a upgrade available for the modded integramod versions?
i can't replace any files because my board is heavely modded...

there is always been told a upgrade for modded boards was gonna be released also
Last edited by Skywalker on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skywalker
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:25 pm

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: found it » Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:52 am

Hi

There couldn't possibly be an upgrade for a modded integramod site as the DEVs do not know what mods you have added......

I too have a modded integramod site but 5the only way for me to upgrade is to compare all the necessary files that contain my extra mods and then upload all the files once I have transferred the code....

Though this is a long and boring task but there is no other way to upgrade a modded forum as I said before the Devs do not know what mods you have added...... though the upgrade for your database will not be a problem as it does not remove any of the added tables you have....

I hope that helps...

:mrgreen:
Last edited by found it on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[url=http]themes.[/url]
http://www.founditforum.com :: [url=http]Joining people together[/url]

[url=http][img=left]http://www.bbful.com/bbful_banner2.png[/img][/url]
User avatar
found it
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:29 am

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Skywalker » Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:01 am

a install instruction for modded boards should not be a problem iff you make it lake phpbb does...

just a instruction like the phpbb update files...

example open index.php before "sample code" add "new code" find "sample code" replace by "new code"
and so on.

and make a download package with only the new files iff you upgrade from integra 132 and 140

if there are some modds already installed the usersscan skip that instructions...

i'm sure al lot of people have modded there boards and this could be helpfull for them also
Last edited by Skywalker on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skywalker
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:25 pm

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Teelk » Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:05 am

That would be fine if this was like a phpBB update. But, the changes were too numerous, it would be nearly impossible to update the board using a manual update like that. Not to mention it would be a huge amount of work to create such a document. It would be enormous and weeks to complete the update, meanwhile your board would be down the whole time.

Realistically it would be more practical to add your mods to the new board then the other way around, a lot less work.
Last edited by Teelk on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Teelk
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 6:25 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Skywalker » Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:15 am

not for me teelk i have hundrets of mods installed its was over a year of modding... but it seems i'm stuck now... the reason why i asked i there would be a upgrade for modded boards also when the first words came out about im 141 was to avoid this...
at that time i was told there was no problem to upgrade from modded im 140 now it seems i can trow more then a years work away...

so i rather work 2 weeks on it then a year again to add all the mods

so plz can someone create a update .script like phpbb does

so i can update a not live version of my board en later replace the live version

plz help me someone
Last edited by Skywalker on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skywalker
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:25 pm

PostAuthor: IntegraMOD » Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:11 am

One way to check what files need to be edited might be to have IM1.40 and IM1.41 and compare both files and then add the changes to your modded board, this is not a failsafe way so make sure you have a backup of all files
Last edited by IntegraMOD on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
IntegraMOD
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Helter » Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:32 am

nearly every file has been updated to make it php5 compatible. If you want to have an idea of what it would take, look at the phpbb2.0.17-2.0.18 update. It is huge, and it is only phpBB. pbpBB by itself is a tiny and simple program, so now take that update, and multiply it by about 30 and you will begin to see the enormity of the project.

phpbb has about 8 folders with not that many files in them plus about 11 root files
IM has 27 folders and lots of subfolders plus over 100 root files
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

PostAuthor: Fubie » Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:42 am

Just out of curiosity, can you link the post where it says there will be an upgrade .script for modded forums?
Last edited by Fubie on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[url=http][img=left]http://www.myhorrorstories.com/files/bannerexchange.gif[/img][/url]

[url=http][img=left]http://www.fubie.net/images/geekstufflarge.jpg[/img][/url]

Fubie
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:52 pm

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Helter » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:34 pm

I remember the post. It said the upgrade .script would work for modded forums, and it does. I believe it also said you would have to re-add any file edits for the mods
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Skywalker » Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:43 pm

"HelterSkelter";p="19827" wrote:I remember the post. It said the upgrade .script would work for modded forums, and it does. I believe it also said you would have to re-add any file edits for the mods


i don't know the link but i'm sure it don't said you would have to install the mods over again.

now just a few questions because i don't like to upgrade under these conditions...
i want to upgrade but i don'tlike to lose more then a year of work.
the cracker tracker and lofi mod will they be released for 140 also and will there be also phpbb upgrades for 140 like now to 2.0.22?
Last edited by Skywalker on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skywalker
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:25 pm

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Helter » Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:12 pm

im not saying they wont be released for 140, but it is unlikely that they will be released by us. We now have to concentrate on updating all the 140 mods and templates to 141 as well as assist many users with the current upgrade and new tech issues that will arise as a result of many more users installing on many different systems and server configurations. We will continue to support 140, as we do 132, but creating new mods for it is pretty low on the priority level at this point.
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

PostAuthor: ayasha » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:37 pm

i would like to say it is not that hard to update a modded forum.

yes, you overwrite files, but the included files for a mod are not overwritten, they are still there.

so is any databases for those mods.

all you really have to do is redo the file edits, and i found having done them once before, i was able to do them alot faster.

it took me almost 2 yrs to mod my forum with all my mods, and after the upgrade, it ran fine even without the edits, so i a took couple of days to put the edits back in.

the only thing you have to really be concerned about doing, is right after the upgrade, you will have to edit your includes/constants.php so you will be able to view your forum. this was a simple process, i opened the modded file and the new file in winmerge, merged all edits that dealt with my mods.

of course, i have found that alot of the mods i did are not being used by the members, so i have opted to go with a fresh install and only install the mods that are really being used.
Last edited by ayasha on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.
~Eleanor Roosevelt

ayasha
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 6:10 pm

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Helter » Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:29 pm

this is probably the wise choice, especially if your on a php5 host, or a value host that could change at any time, because many mods out there are not php5 compatible. If youve added over 100 mods, its a fair guess that several of them will error, unless your already on a php5 host and have fixed them already
Last edited by Helter on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Please do not PM for support
User avatar
Helter
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 4126
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:46 pm
Location: Seattle Wa

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Skywalker » Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:22 am

i've also created my own theme for 140 can ik keep using this theme on 141? or do i need te create it all over again?
Last edited by Skywalker on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skywalker
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:25 pm

Re: Upgrade for modded integramod 140?

PostAuthor: Skywalker » Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:25 am

i hope when a new version will be released in the future like 142 there will be a install instruction like phpbb have for the modded boards so not all the file edits have to be done over again...
Last edited by Skywalker on Wed Dec 31, 1969 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skywalker
Sr Integra Member
Sr Integra Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:25 pm

Next

Return to IntegraMOD 141

Who is online

Registered users: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot]

cron