vertical banner (block)

This forum contains member submitted mods and hacks for IntegraMOD/IM Portal versions

*please read the "Read Me" post*

Moderator: Integra Moderator

vertical banner (block)

PostAuthor: sandman229 » Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:30 am

How would you go about creating a side block for vertical banners??

sandman229
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:28 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Victorville, Ca.

Re: vertical banner (block)

PostAuthor: DjPorkchop » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:07 am

Easily done. Go to ACP/Im Portal/Block Management Choose the page you wish to place the new block on and on that page click add blocks. When the next screen comes up, simply add your image and link code and set the settings how you like it and submit. There you go, one new banner block.
"Don't´╗┐ gain the world and lose your soul, wisdom is better than silver and gold" -Bob Marley

If you build it, I can break it! ~ Whispered in the tone of the movie Field of Dreams.
User avatar
DjPorkchop
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1353
Likes: 28 posts
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:59 pm
Cash on hand: 521.25
Location: Illinois
IntegraMOD version: IM 3

Re: vertical banner (block)

PostAuthor: sandman229 » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:31 am

"MWE_001" wrote:Easily done. Go to ACP/Im Portal/Block Management Choose the page you wish to place the new block on and on that page click add blocks. When the next screen comes up, simply add your image and link code and set the settings how you like it and submit. There you go, one new banner block.



Thats good, but after I posted this, I knew I should have been more specific.

Using the banner ad that is already installed. All of the banners tags are set in the header and footer for Horizontal banners. What about the vertical banners?? I'd like to have a block with rotating vertical banners. I guess I could take the banner ad mod and make a block but only use one tag I normally don't use in the header tpl file and use it in a block tpl.. Like [banner_11] ..

gee, Now its really clear as mud...

sandman229
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:28 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Victorville, Ca.

Re: vertical banner (block)

PostAuthor: XHIBIT » Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:01 am

Bro, its just like MWE said.
Easily done. Go to ACP/Im Portal/Block Management Choose the page you wish to place the new block on and on that page click add blocks. When the next screen comes up, simply add your image and link code and set the settings how you like it and submit. There you go, one new banner block.


The vertical or (skyscraper banner) as they are called goes in the box, either as HTML or BBCode.
If youre going to be using a banner rotator make sure all the banners are the same width and height.
The standard is 120x600, but you can adjust and go as wide 124=width (without stretching the portal or the forum topic view out) .

The width is the key thing, You can toy around and go 124x400, 124x 500 etc etc...

Just make sure the block file is set to NONE.
And for borders make sure all the radio buttons are ticked to yes.

Since you expressed you'd be using a banner rotator make sure the HTML is ticked also.
So you can add the script and url's along with images.

Heres an example
http://trutube.loadedparanormal.com

The center 468x60 banner ads are on a script and change every 10 seconds.

If you need an easy to embed script let me know.
[url=http][img=center]http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb186/XTVMOVIES/LP-ani.gif[/img][/url]
[url=http][img=center]http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb186/XTVMOVIES/ALBUM%203/rabbitbanner.jpg[/img][/url]
[url=http][img=center]http://5thshiftradio.top-site-list.com/images/banners/5thshiftradio.jpg[/img][/url]
User avatar
XHIBIT
Integra Member
Integra Member
 
Posts: 113
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:44 am
Cash on hand: 0.00

Re: vertical banner (block)

PostAuthor: sandman229 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:57 am

"XHIBIT" wrote:Bro, its just like MWE said.
Easily done. Go to ACP/Im Portal/Block Management Choose the page you wish to place the new block on and on that page click add blocks. When the next screen comes up, simply add your image and link code and set the settings how you like it and submit. There you go, one new banner block.


The vertical or (skyscraper banner) as they are called goes in the box, either as HTML or BBCode.
If youre going to be using a banner rotator make sure all the banners are the same width and height.
The standard is 120x600, but you can adjust and go as wide 124=width (without stretching the portal or the forum topic view out) .

The width is the key thing, You can toy around and go 124x400, 124x 500 etc etc...

Just make sure the block file is set to NONE.
And for borders make sure all the radio buttons are ticked to yes.

Since you expressed you'd be using a banner rotator make sure the HTML is ticked also.
So you can add the script and url's along with images.

Heres an example
http://trutube.loadedparanormal.com

The center 468x60 banner ads are on a script and change every 10 seconds.

If you need an easy to embed script let me know.


Thanks for the info. I was hoping I could use the same banner ad that is used in the header and footer.

sandman229
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:28 am
Cash on hand: 0.00
Location: Victorville, Ca.


Return to Mods/Hacks

Who is online

Registered users: App360MonitorBot, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Vendethiel